The Adventures of Peregrine Pickle. In which are included, Memoirs of a Lady of Quality. In four Volumes. Vol. I. [-IV] …

London: Printed for the Author: and sold by D. Wilson … 1751.

4 vols., 12mo., with the cancel L12 in volume III, but not the terminal blanks in vols II-III; occasional foxing; a good copy in contemporary marbled calf, rebacked.


US $554€453

Make an enquiry

First edition of Smollett’s picaresque account of the adventures of the egotistical young dandy Peregrine Pickle. The novel is particularly notable for its description of his journeys in Europe which constitute a ‘great, sustained prose satire on the Grand Tour, every detail of which can be fully substantiated from contemporary books on Continental travel’ (Oxford DNB).

The book earned particular notoriety for its inclusion of Frances, Lady Vane’s scandalous ‘Memoirs of a Lady of Quality’, which describes her extramarital romantic adventures and her marriage to Lord Vane, whose sexual overtures are unfavourably characterised as ‘the pawings of an imp, sent from hell to tease and torment some guilty wretch’.

Rothschild 1910.

You may also be interested in...


The Works of J. S, D. D, D. S. P. D. in four Volumes … In this Edition are great Alterations and Additions; and likewise many Pieces in each Volume, never before published.

First 12mo. edition of the first collected Works of Swift, preceded by octavo edition earlier in the year. Here the chronological arrangement in volumes I and II has been altered and one piece, ‘Prometheus’ (a later insertion), moved from volume IV to its correct place in volume II.

Read more

ROTH, Henry.

Call it Sleep.

First English edition, first published in New York by Robert O. Ballou in 1934.

Read more