Récueil de plusieurs prieres.

Vienna, ‘chez Georg Müllner libraire et relieur des livres’, [c. 1810].

12mo, pp. 140, [2 (contents)], with engraved frontispiece and title included in pagination; some foxing, light damp staining at foot of pp. 5-10; overall very good in contemporary tree-patterned calf, gilt border to covers, central lozenge-shaped red morocco overlays with gilt borders and central gilt stamps of vase and lyre to upper and lower cover, spine richly gilt, edges gilt, blue patterned endpapers; small wormhole to spine, a little wear to corners; in contemporary matching tree-patterned slipcase.


US $549€504

Add to basket Make an enquiry

Added to your basket:
Récueil de plusieurs prieres.

Checkout now

Very rare and charming early nineteenth-century prayer book in an attractive binding by the Viennese ‘libraire et relieur’ Georg Müllner.

The text comprises twenty-nine prayers and devotions, including prayers for a happy death, for a wise sovereign, for comfort during a storm, for the courage to change one’s ways, for the New Year, and for one’s birthday. The attractive frontispiece and title vignette, depicting Christ and the Samaritan woman and Christ preaching to the apostles, are by the Viennese engraver Clemens Kohl (1754–1807). Müllner also published almanacks and calendars, largely intended, as here, for a female readership.

Not found on OCLC or Library Hub. We have traced a copy at the Austrian National Library.

You may also be interested in...


Horatius restitutus: or the books of Horace arranged in chronological order according to the scheme of Dr Bentley, from the text of his second edition in 1713, and the common readings subjoined; with a preliminary dissertation on the chronology and the localities of that poet …  Cambridge, J. 

First edition of this attempt to arrange the books of Horace in chronological order by the classical scholar and master of Richmond School, James Tate (1771–1843), this copy presented by him to Thomas Gaisford (1779–1855), classicist, Dean of Christ Church Oxford, Regius Professor of Greek, curator of the Bodleian Library, and delegate of the Clarendon Press. 

Read more


Caius Suetonius Tranquillus, cum annotationibus diversorum. 

First Elzevir edition of the extant works of Suetonius.  Consisting almost entirely of the Twelve Caesars, Suetonius’s works are here completed by his brief (and in many cases fragmentary) biographies of grammarians, rhetoricians, poets, and historians (of which only Pliny the Elder survives). 

Read more