Rime di Giambattista Felice Zappi e di Faustina Maratti sua consorte.

Nice, Società Tipog. 1781.

Small 8vo, pp. 128; title within border, woodcut headpiece; some foxing and spotting in places throughout, the odd worm trace in gutter, not affecting text; in contemporary blue wrappers, decorated with ink frame; title in ink on spine; somewhat dustsoiled, spine worn with small loss to head; with the ownership signature of the Ligurian priest Vincenzo Lotti, dated 1800, on front paste-down.


US $242€231

Make an enquiry

Added to your basket:
Rime di Giambattista Felice Zappi e di Faustina Maratti sua consorte.

Checkout now

Uncommon Nice printing of the collected poetry of one of the most prominent literary couples of early 18th century Rome, Faustina Maratti (1679–1745) and her husband Giambattista Zappi (1667–1719). First published after Zappi’s death in 1723, the collection consists of 73 poems by Zappi and 38 by Maratti. The two had met through the Accademia degli Arcadi, of which Zappi was a founder member and Maratti was one of the earliest female members. The present printing is by the Société typographique in Nice, established in 1779 by Charles Cristini, which specialised in the printing of Italian classics.

Outwith Continental Europe, OCLC records copies at Yale, Harvard, Wisconsin, Missouri, and the BL.

You may also be interested in...

[D’URFEY, Thomas].

Butler’s Ghost: or Hudibras. The Fourth Part. With Reflections upon these Times …

First edition of D’Urfey’s sympathetic continuation of Samuel Butler’s burlesque Hudibras, the most celebrated satire of the seventeenth century, published in three parts in 1663-78. The two cantos of Butler’s Ghost follow the progress of Butler’s eponymous Presbyterian Knight from an interrupted suicide attempt, to a joyous engagement to a ‘cunning’ widow, and thence to unhappy cuckoldry, when he discovers his new wife and his friend Stalliano in ‘indecent manner’ on his wedding day.

Read more

BYRON, George Gordon, Lord Byron.

Hebrew Melodies … London: Printed for John Murray … 1815.

First edition of a group of poems mainly written at the request of Douglas Kinnaird, Byron’s banker and friend, to accompany a selection of ancient Jewish sacred music set by Isaac Nathan, although the most famous of all, ‘She walks in Beauty’, had been composed impromptu a few months earlier when Byron first met his cousin Anne Beatrix Wilmot. The folio printing with the music, A Selection of Hebrew Melodies, in two parts, also 1815, is very rare.

Read more